Upon its release, Talk That Talk received generally favorable reviews from music critics. The album debuted at number three on the US Billboard 200, with first week sales of 198,000 copies in the United States. As of July 2012, the album has sold 964,087 copies in the United States. The album peaked at number one in Austria, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, where it debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart, selling 163,000 copies in its first week. As of December 2011, the album has been certified two-times platinum by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI) for shipments of 600,000 copies.

Six singles have been released from the album. The debut single, "We Found Love" was released on September 22, 2011, and quickly became Rihanna's eleventh number one in the US, remaining at the top spot for ten non-consecutive weeks. The track also topped the charts in 26 additional countries. "You Da One" was released as the second single, with moderate worldwide success. The eponymous "Talk That Talk", featuring rapper Jay-Z, and a remix of "Birthday Cake" were sent to radio as the album's third and fourth US singles. "Where Have You Been" was released as the third international and fifth US single, reaching the top ten of twenty countries around the world. On September 7, 2012, a remixed version of "Cockiness (Love It)" featuring rapper A$AP Rocky was released as the sixth and final single.

As of November 2012, the album had sold over 3.2 million copies worldwide.

Check our Photo Gallery to view more

See, people ... they want me to be a role model just because of the life I lead. The things I say in my songs, they expect it of me, and [being a role model] became more of my job than I wanted it to be. But no, I just want to make music. That's it.

The album debuted at number three on the US Billboard 200, with first-week sales of 198,000 copies in the United States, slightly below her last album, which also debuted at number three with 207,000 copies. In its second week, the album sold an additional 68,200 copies in the United States, dropping to number 7 on the charts and bringing its total sales to 266,400 units sold. The album has been certified platinum in the United States, having sold 1,015,000 copies as of October 2012.

In the United Kingdom, the album was certified platinum by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI) for shipments of 300,000 units after six days of sale. Talk That Talk debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart, selling more than 163,000 copies in its first week. With the album and "We Found Love" both at number one, it made Rihanna the only female artist in the UK to simultaneously have a number one single and album twice in the same year with a different album and single. The other double chart topper being "What's My Name?" and Loud in January 2011. On December 9, 2011 the album was certified two-times platinum by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI) for shipments of 600,000 copies in the UK. As of June 26, 2012 it has sold 850,000 copies. It was the second biggest selling R&B / hip hop album of 2011 in the UK, only beaten by Rihanna's previous album, Loud (2010).

On August 12, 2012, the album returned to the number one position of the UK Albums Chart, selling 9,578 copies, making it the UK's lowest-selling number one since records began.

On February 20, 2012, a full length remix version featuring Chris Brown of the original interlude "Birthday Cake" premiered coinciding with Rihanna's 24th birthday. It was sent to radio as the fourth US single from the album on March 6, 2012. The official remix reached number two on the US Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs, subsequently managing a peak of number 24 on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, despite no digital release of the remix or music video.

A remixed version of the song featuring rapper A$AP Rocky was released as the sixth and final single from the album on September 7, 2012.

Rihanna released only 3 videos through this era.

"We Found Love" was the first performed song from the album, as it was performed for the first time on November 14, 2011 at Rihanna's Loud Tour (2011) in London.

Rihanna closed Barclaycard Wireless Festival 2012 in London. Opening with a medley of Only Girl (In The World), Disturbia and S&M. You Da One, Birthday, Man Down and Talk That Talk, Wait Your Turn, Where Have You Been, What's My Name, Run This Town, Take A Bow, Cheers, Watch And Learn, Rude Boy were included.

RiRi's Egyptian themed set played host to her live band and energetic troupe of dancers, and the show looked as vibrant and diverse as it sounded.

For an encore, it was a soaring and stripped back version of Love The Way You Lie, and RiRi showed off more with a pitch-perfect rendition of Umbrella.

For her final number Rihanna sent 65,000 fans mental with a fist-pumping version of her HUGE global hit We Found Love.

During the "2012 Summer Tour" Rihanna has also performed in:

  • BBC Radio 1's Hackney Weekend in London - June 23 & 24, 2012
  • Kollen Festival in Oslo, Norway - June 29, 2012
  • Peace & Love Festival in Borlänge, Sweden - June 30, 2012
  • Summer Sonic Festival in Osaka, Japan - August 18 & 19, 2012
  • 2012 iHeartRadio Music Festival - September 21, 2012
  • Crystall Hall in Baku, Azerbaijan - October 6, 2012





1. "You da One" - 3:18
Ester Dean, Lukasz Gottwald, Robyn Fenty John Hill, Henry Walter; Dr. Luke, Cirkut

2. "Where Have You Been" - 4:02
Dean, Gottwald, Adam Wiles, Walter, Geoff Mack; Dr. Luke, Cirkut, Calvin Harris

3. "We Found Love" (featuring Calvin Harris) - 3:35
Harris; Calvin Harris

4. "Talk That Talk" (featuring Jay-Z) - 3:30
Dean, Mikkel S. Eriksen, Tor E. Hermansen, Shawn Carter, Anthony Best, Sean Combs, Carl Thompson, Christopher Wallace; Stargate

5. "Cockiness (Love It)" - 2:58
Candice Pillay, Dwayne "Dem Jointz" Abernathy, Shondrae Crawford, Fenty; Mr. Bangladesh

6. "Birthday Cake" - 1:18
Terius Nash, Fenty, Marcos Palacios, Earnest Clark; Da Internz, The-Dream

7. "We All Want Love" - 3:57
Dean, Ernest Wilson, Steve Wyreman, Kevin Randolph, Gonzales; No I.D.

8. "Drunk on Love" - 3:31
Dean, Eriksen, Hermansen, Baria Qureshi, Romy Croft, Oliver Sim, Jamie Smith, Gonzales; Stargate

9. "Roc Me Out" - 3:29
Dean, Eriksen, Hermansen, Swire, McGrillen; Stargate, Knife Party

10."Watch n' Learn" - 3:31
Priscilla Renea, Chauncey Hollis, Fenty, Alja Jackson; Hit-Boy

11. "Farewell" - 4:16
Dean, Alexander Grant, Gonzales; Alex da Kid


11. "Red Lipstick" - 3:37
Terius Nash, Robyn Fenty; Chase & Status

11. "Do Ya Thang" - 3:43
Terius Nash, Robyn Fenty; The-Dream

11. "Fool in Love" - 4:15
Dean, Gottwald, Walter, Gonzales; Dr. Luke, Cirkut, Ester Dean


11. "We Found Love" (featuring Calvin Harris) (Calvin Harris Extended Mix) - 5:45
Calvin Harris; Calvin Harris


We Found Love

You Da One

Where Have You Been